Bank & Public Holidays In England & Wales

Public holidays in the United Kingdom are also known as Bank holidays where businesses and non-essential services are closed although nowadays, an increasing number of retail businesses especially the large ones do open on selected public holidays.

There are different bank and public holidays in different parts of the UK. There are currently six permanent bank holidays in England and Wales, and Christmas Day and Good Friday are "public holidays."

Public holidays in Britain comprise the bank holidays declared by statute (as listed in the Banking and Financial Dealings Act 1971, Schedule 1), by royal proclamation, and common law/customary holidays (Good Friday and Christmas Day, which are not offical "bank holidays" in England, Wales and Northern Ireland). Royal proclamation is also used to move holidays that would otherwise fall on a weekend or that are moved for special occasions, or to create additional one-off holidays (such as for the Diamond Jubilee celebrations in 2012).

When a bank holiday falls on a Sunday the following Monday usually becomes the day when the holiday is observed (known as substitute day or 'bank holiday in lieu'). If the Monday is also a bank holiday, the substitute day moves to the following weekday. UK public holidays always move forward in the calendar, never backwards.

The August bank holiday always falls on the last Monday of August in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and on the first Monday of August in Scotland. Its official name is "Summer Bank Holiday", however it is far more commonly referred to as the "August Bank Holiday".

Despite the difference, public holidays in the UK are generally all referred to as bank holidays due to the 4 days  designated by the Bank Holidays Act of 1871.







New Year's Day



Good Friday



Easter Monday



Early May bank holiday



Spring bank holiday



Summer bank holiday



Christmas Day


Useful Internet Links: